NUGGETS [8/7/13]

by Paul Tautges | August 7, 2013 4:32 am

Describe a Person Well and You Win that Person[1] – Ed Welch confesses that “secular counselors, on average, might do a little better at describing people’s hardships than biblical counselors. This is a problem.”

5 Reasons to Confront Even if You Hate Confrontation[2] – “Remember that confrontations can be good and our many excuses to avoid them may be robbing us of the relationships we want.”

PCUSA Rejects Hymn “In Christ Alone”[3] – Though the subject matter is not a surprise this article should evoke sadness in our hearts. “A wrathless god shorn of His justice is no god worth worshipping. Nor is he a god able to convict and save sinners. When wrath is taken away, so is the gospel. And that is why this discussion matters.”

The Best Book on Sexual Purity[4] – Heath Lambert’s new book, Finally Free[5], gets Andy Naselli’s vote. “This is by far the single most helpful book on sexual purity for men that I’m aware of.”

Parenting: The Joyful Impossibility[6] – In his stark honesty, Paul Tripp writes, “It’s humbling and a bit embarrassing to admit, but I sat in my car and dreamed of what it would be like to be single.”

A Powerful Vacation Sermon[7] – “Yes, slightly Arminian at points, but give me a living Christ-filled sermon like this any day over our perfect fact-filled Reformed homilies that are so easy to listen to without listening.”

Email, RSS Follow[8]
[9]
Email [10]
Endnotes:
  1. Describe a Person Well and You Win that Person: http://www.ccef.org/blog/describe-person-well-and-you-win-person
  2. 5 Reasons to Confront Even if You Hate Confrontation: http://jemartisby.com/2013/03/03/why-to-confront-even-if-you-hate-confrontation/?utm_source=HeadHeartHand+Blog&utm_campaign=16f6d9438f-RSS_EMAIL_CAMPAIGN&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_5efef10d9e-16f6d9438f-110849293
  3. PCUSA Rejects Hymn “In Christ Alone”: http://www.dennyburk.com/presbyterian-church-u-s-a-rejects-popular-hymn-in-christ-alone-because-of-wrath/
  4. The Best Book on Sexual Purity: http://andynaselli.com/the-best-book-on-sexual-purity
  5. Finally Free: http://www.amazon.com/Finally-Free-Fighting-Purity-Power/dp/0310499232/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1375825607&sr=1-2&keywords=finally+free
  6. Parenting: The Joyful Impossibility: http://christiancounseling.com/content/parenting-the-joyful-impossibility
  7. A Powerful Vacation Sermon: http://headhearthand.org/blog/2013/08/06/a-powerful-vacation-sermon/
  8. [Image] Follow: http://www.specificfeeds.com/follow
  9. : https://twitter.com/share
  10. [Image] : mailto:?subject=NUGGETS%20%5B8%2F7%2F13%5D&body=NUGGETS%20%5B8%2F7%2F13%5D%20-%20http%3A%2F%2Fcounselingoneanother.com%2F2013%2F08%2F07%2Fnuggets-8713%2F

Source URL: http://counselingoneanother.com/2013/08/07/nuggets-8713/