8 Books that Helped Me in 2018

by Paul Tautges | January 3, 2019 9:26 pm

My reading goal for 2018 was 34 books, but I did not make it. But from the 27 that I was able to finish, here are eight that impacted me. They are listed in no particular order.

Psalms By the Day: A New Devotional Translation[1] (Alec Motyer) – I used this for my daily devotions, through the book of Psalms, and was so blessed.

Graciousness: Tempering Truth with Love[2] (John Crotts) – This little book is unique and super helpful! This gentle, yet challenging, book models its subtitle so well.

Feelings and Faith[3] (Brian Borgman) – This is an important practical theology of our emotions, as related to our walk with God.

Saving Eutychus[4] (Gary Miller, Phil Campbell) – A simple, but really helpful refresher on preaching.

How Does Sanctification Work?[5] – This is David Powlison doing what he does best, helping us think more deeply about the way the Spirit sanctifies us (without formulas).

Hillbilly Elegy[6] – This #1 New York Times bestseller is a raw memoir offering insight into the struggles of America’s white working class.

Rescuing Ambition[7] (Dave Harvey) – This is a refreshing book, which redeems godly ambition to do great things for God, and distinguishes it from selfish motivation.

The Call: Finding and Fulfilling Your Central Purpose in Life[8] (Os Guinness) – This book helped me to reflect on God’s calling and gifting.

Endnotes:
  1. Psalms By the Day: A New Devotional Translation: https://www.cvbbs.com/products/psalms-by-the-day-a-new-devotional-translation-motyer-alec?_pos=1&_sid=4862e8df5&_ss=r
  2. Graciousness: Tempering Truth with Love: https://www.heritagebooks.org/products/graciousness-tempering-truth-with-love-crotts.html
  3. Feelings and Faith: https://www.wtsbooks.com/feelings-and-faith-brian-borgman-9781433503634?utm_source=ptautges&utm_medium=blogpartners
  4. Saving Eutychus: https://www.cvbbs.com/products/saving-eutychus-millar-gary-campbell?_pos=1&_sid=6d0755705&_ss=r
  5. How Does Sanctification Work?: https://www.cvbbs.com/products/how-does-sanctification-work-powlison-david?_pos=1&_sid=76849b69b&_ss=r
  6. Hillbilly Elegy: https://smile.amazon.com/Hillbilly-Elegy-Memoir-Family-Culture/dp/0062300555/ref=sr_1_3?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1546567947&sr=1-3&keywords=hillbilly+elegy
  7. Rescuing Ambition: https://www.cvbbs.com/products/rescuing-ambition-harvey-dave?_pos=1&_sid=5cc3f61f0&_ss=r
  8. The Call: Finding and Fulfilling Your Central Purpose in Life: https://www.cvbbs.com/products/call-the-finding-and-fulfilling-the-central-purpose-of-your-life-guinness-os?_pos=1&_sid=b62ca155e&_ss=r

Source URL: https://counselingoneanother.com/2019/01/03/8-books-that-helped-me-in-2018/